Woman of the Year in Agriculture

The award, now in its 26th year, recognizes women who have made outstanding contributions to Florida agriculture.  It is sponsored by the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services and the Florida State Fair Authority.  The award will be presented on February 10, 2011, during the opening-day luncheon at the Florida State Fair in Tampa.

2012 Imogene Yarborough Geneva
2011 Sarah K. Childs Lake Placid
2010 Ann Holt Palm Beach County
2009    Marcia Lightsey     Lake Wales
2008                    Patsy Nathe Dade City
2007                   Colleen Boggs Homestead
2006                       Iris Wall Indiantown
2005  Marlene Strickland            Sarasota
2004  Martina "Teena" Borek Homestead
2003          Jennie Lee Zipperer   Fort Myers
2002        Annette Barnett Land    Branford
2001            Barbara Carlton    Sidell
 2000                    Helen Houck  Perry
1999                Vina Jean Banks Balm
1998             Nancy Gurnett Hardy Winter Haven
1997         Gertrude "Trudy" Carey Hillsborough County
1996                 Norma Stokes  Highlands County
1995      Louve "Vee" Frierson Platt Clewiston
Patricia Robbins               Miami
1994         Anne Wardlaw Dickinson  Frostproof
1993                 Sarah W. Bailey St. Johns County
1992 Carol C. Murphy      Volusia County
1991                 Ruth M. Tucker Brevard County
1990               Jeanette Barthle Pasco County
1989                  Belle Jeffords Alachua County
1988            Carolyn Reed Kempfer Osceola County
1987          Dorothy Conner Shipes Lake County
1986                 Ruth Wedgworth Belle Glade
1985                    Jo Ann Smith Marion County

Return to the Archives